The Malcolm Ferguson-Smith Young Investigator Award

In 2007, Prenatal Diagnosis, the official journal of ISPD, announced The Malcolm Ferguson-Smith Young Investigator Award. In recognition of the Journal’s Founding Editor, an annual prize is awarded to the best original paper published in a given volume by a young investigator (40 years or younger).

Access The Winning Papers

2017: TBA

2016: Connexin 43 is overexpressed in human fetal membrane defects after fetoscopic surgery
David W. Barrett (pictured at left), Anna L. David, Christopher Thrasivoulou, Alvaro Mata, David L. Becker, Alex C. Engels, Jan A. Deprest, Tina T. Chowdhury

2015: Exome sequencing for prenatal diagnosis of fetuses with sonographic abnormalities
Suzanne Drury, Hywel Williams, Natalie Trump, Christopher Boustred, GOSGene, Nicholas Lench, Richard H. Scott, Lyn S. Chitty

2014: Involvement of neurons and retinoic acid in lymphatic development: new insights in increased nuchal translucency
Nicole B. Burger, Kyra E. Stuurman, Evelien Kok, Tanja Konijn, Dennis Schooneman, Karen Niederreither, Mark Coles, Williamn W. Agace, Vincent M. Christoffels, Reina E. Mebius, Serge A. van de Pavert, and Mireille N. Bekker

2013:  Impact of observed versus hypothesized service utilization on the incremental cost of first trimester screening and prenatal diagnosis for trisomy 21 in a Canadian province
Amy Metcalfe, Gillian Currie, Jo-Ann Johnson, Francois Bernier, Lisa M. Lix, Andrew W. Lyon, and Suzanne C. Tough

2012:  Identification of circulating fetal cell markers by microarray analysis
Marie Brinch, Lotte Hatt, Ripudaman Singh, Kristine Møller, Steffen Sommer, Niels Uldbjerg, Britta Christensen, and Steen Kolvraa

2011:  Integrative data mining to identify novel candidate serum biomarkers for pre-eclampsia screening
Jeroen L. A. Pennings, Sylwia Kuc, Wendy Rodenburg, Maria P. H. Koster, Peter C. J. I. Schielen, and Annemieke de Vries

2010:  Confined placental mosaicism and pregnancy outcome: a distinction needs to be made between types 2 and 3
Jérôme Toutain, Cécile Labeau-Gaüzere, Thomas Barnetche, Jacques Horovitz, and Robert Saura

2009:  A microarray-based approach for the identification of epigenetic biomarkers for the noninvasive diagnosis of fetal disease
Tianjiao Chu, Brian Burke, Kimberly Bunce, Urvashi Surti, W. Allen Hogge, and David G. Peters

2008:  Comparison between ultrasound and magnetic resonance imaging in assessment of fetal cytomegalovirus infection
Olivier Picone, Isabelle Simon, Alexandra Benachi, Francis Brunelle, and Pascale Sonigo

2007:  First-trimester ADAM12 and PAPP-A as markers for intrauterine fetal growth restriction through their roles in the insulin-like growth factor system
Nicholas J. Cowans and Kevin Spencer

Joe Leigh Simpson Award for Best Early Career Investigator

At the international conference, ISPD recognizes the work of the best early career investigator with the Joe Leigh Simpson Award. This award was previously named the ISPD Young Scientist Award, and renamed to honor Joe Leigh Simpson, the Founding President of ISPD. Below an overview of the winning young investigators:

2017: Cortical age in fetuses with heart defects using automated age-prediction software

Sheila Everwijn, Netherlands (left) with Joe Leigh Simpson (right) in San Diego

2016: An Integrated human/murine transcriptome and pathway approach to identify prenatal treatments for Down syndrome
Faycal Guedj, PhD, United States

2015: Correction of Hemoglobin levels in a Heterozygous Humanized Mouse Model of Thalassemia after Fetal Gene Therapy
Pancios Shangaris, MBBCh, BAO, MSc, United Kingdom

2014: Are false-positive results in non-invasive prenatal RHD typing caused by placental chimerism?
Florentine F. Thurik, MD, The Netherlands

2013: Fetoscopic lasercoagulation of the entire vascular equator for treatment of twin-to-twin transfusion syndrome.
Femke Slaghekke, MD, The Netherlands

2012: Altered Fetal Cerebral and Cerebellar Development in Twin-Twin Transfusion Syndrome (TTTS).
Tomo Tarui, MD, United States

2010: Intrauterine delivery of AAV efficiently transduces the liver and CNS in the non-human primate fetus.
Citra Mattar, MBBS, Mmed, MRAZNCOG, Singapore

2008: MLPA or karyotyping? Comparison of accuracy in prenatal diagnosis: Preliminary results.
Elisabeth Boormans, MD, The Netherlands

2006: Hematopoietic chimerism and prevention of tumor formation after allogeneic in utero transplantation of embryonic stem cell-derived progenitors in cynomolgus monkey
S. Hayoshi