Virtual Education Series 2021

Registration is free to all who are interested, but all attendees must register to receive access information.

Attendees of the live webinar will receive a certificate of attendance at the conclusion of the series.

Recordings of Previous Sessions

A recording of each session will be posted approximately one week after the live webinar. Please note that certificates of attendance are available only to attendees of the live webinar.

Visit the VES 2021 Recordings page to listen to past sessions.

Also see VES 2020 Recordings.

Session Schedule

The second session in the series was presented on 5 May 2021 at 11:00 AM U.S. Eastern Daylight Time (5:00 PM CEST and 3:00 PM UTC).  

Recording coming soon

5 May 2021
Session 2
11:00 AM EDT

TALK 1: Genetic Basis of Abdominal Wall Defects — Mary Norton, MD
This talk will focus on the spectrum of abdominal wall defects, including gastroschisis and omphalocele, and will review genetic disorders that are associated with these anomalies. The lecture will also briefly discuss less common disorders, such as limb-body wall syndrome and Pentalogy of Cantrell. The talk will provide information on what is known about the genetics of these conditions, as well as a practical approach to testing when these disorders are identified.

TALK 2: Omphalocele-What should we tell the prospective parents? — April Adams, MD
Omphalocele is one of the most common types of abdominal defects, with an incidence ranging from 1 in 1100 to 1 in 3000 pregnancies. Omphalocele is often associated with genetic and multiple malformation syndromes, and the overall prognosis depends on the size of the omphalocele, genetic studies, and associated anomalies. With improved sensitivity of prenatal ultrasound and expanding prenatal diagnostic options, clinicians are tasked with not only providing the diagnosis, but counseling the prospective parents regarding prenatal and postnatal management options. This talk will review essential points for counseling and answer some common questions that might arise in discussion with parents.

   

The following time zone converter shows the equivalent webinar time for you, based on your computer clock.

Abdominal Wall Defects, 5 May 2021
Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com

 
Not on our mailing list? To receive updates about ISPD educational events, please log in to your account (or create an account) and update the Email Communication Preferences on your account page to include meeting announcements. (You do not have to be an ISPD member to have a basic account on our website.)
 

The Virtual Education Series is supported by the ISPD Education Fund to which the ISPD Corporate Council member companies have made generous contributions.

Corporate Council Members

BillionToOne

Illumina

 


 

Invitae
 

Myriad

PerkinElmer

Natera